The Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod (LCMS) is a traditional, confessional Lutheran denomination in the United States. With 2.3 million members, it is both the eighth largest Protestant denomination and the second-largest Lutheran body in the U.S. after the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. The Synod was founded at Chicago, Illinois, in 1847 by German-American immigrants. The LCMS is headquartered in St. Louis, Missouri.

Approximately half of the LCMS members are located in the Upper Midwest, although it is represented in all 50 U.S. states, and is affiliated with other Lutheran sister churches worldwide, including most of the members of the International Lutheran Council. It also has several congregations in Ontario and one in Quebec that remained with the LCMS after most of the Synod's Canadian congregations formed the autonomous Lutheran Church–Canada in 1988. The LCMS is divided into 35 districts—33 geographic and two (the English and SELC) non-geographic districts. The current president is the Rev. Matthew C. Harrison, who took office on September 1, 2010.

Witness - Mercy - Life TogetherEmphasis for the Church

As President Harrison pondered his new role and the task of restructuring the national office, he focused on the work and emphasis for the church.

These phrases—Witness, Mercy, Life Together—illustrate how the church lives and works together to proclaim the Gospel and to provide for our brothers and sisters in Christ in our congregations, communities and throughout the world.   And in all we do, Christ is at the center, leading us, sustaining us, keeping us focused on our mission.  This will never change.



Life Together

“For there are three that testify: the Spirit and the water and the blood; and these three agree.”

– 1 John 5:7-8

“For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

– Mark 10:45

“God is faithful, by whom you were called into the fellowship of his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.”

– 1 Corinthians 1:9